Encouragement

GOD’S SILENCE

Do you all remember the story of Job? Job was a faithful follower of God that Satan wanted to battle for. Satan believed Job would deny God if he gave him enough trouble and suffering, but God knew better. God told Satan – do as you must, except don’t kill Job. To read the full story, read the book of Job.

In the story of Job, Job suffered a long and painful silence from the Lord during Satan’s time of tempting Job. Even the strongest believers have sometimes long periods of silence from God. It can be disheartening and discouraging. Sometimes we go through suffering or hardship in our lives and feel like God is just no where to be found.

I’ve had many periods like this in my life and looking back at those situations, I’ve realized God was always with me….but I was being tested in those times. (GOD TESTS, SATAN TEMPTS).

Often when we receive silence from God in our lives it is to test our faith. He gives us the opportunity to “choose this day whom we will serve” so to speak. He wishes to test our faith to see how far we’ve grown, how much we’ve been strengthened during the times where we could feel and sense God’s presence, and He does this in order to move us forward to the next phase of our growth and walk with Him.

It’s really easy to praise God and remain steadfast in Him when we feel His presence. I remember a time where God was revealing Himself to me every day for months early in my walk. And then one day He just went quiet. I started to feel like I had done something wrong. I started to feel discouraged. I started to wonder where He went and why. But some people actually view that silence in a much different light. They view it as their feeling of God’s presence must have been all in their minds and when He goes silent, they pull away and go right back to how they were BEFORE God showed them Himself and/or His Glory.

Our response to God’s silence determines whether we will move forward in our faith, or have to start over again. We either keep working our lives based around Him, and what He had just taught and showed us, or we go back to the world.

I’m currently going through a time of silence that has been going on for over a year now with a few brief interruptions here and there. I’ve learned to trust Him, at ALL times. I’ve learned to not get discouraged anymore, and to not feel ashamed that I’ve done something wrong. I’ve learned these periods of silence are to help me see how much I’ve grown, how much I’ve learned, and how much I trust Him. This most recent time of silence has been a hard time for me in the sense of losing my mother last year in October, and this year right before Thanksgiving losing my ex-stepdaughter. BOTH times I completely THREW myself into the Lord’s arms and He comforted me and helped me through some tough things. You see, His silence can be deafening at times, but His love is always present.

Hebrews 13:5
Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

I rely on the Lord to write my blogs a lot of times. I seek His guidance and counsel in my teaching. This is the area of silence I’ve endured for over a year. He has popped in every now and then to reveal a thing here or there that I was seeking, but not in the overpowering way where you KNOW He is wanting you to get out a message for someone. I think this particular time for me is a time of rest that He has granted me. He knows that anything He calls me for regarding teaching, etc – I’m there and it doesn’t matter if it’s 3:30 in the morning, awoken out of a dead sleep that I find so rare these days. We learn to be patient and wait on Him during these times of silence. He remains faithful and reminds us He is there when we need it most. I love this place of my faith – complete trust in Him….knowing His love endures for His children. Leaps and bounds from where I was many years ago.

Have you experienced God and then sudden deafening silence from Him? Have you questioned if it was something that you did or if He was mad at you? If you are in a period of that now, please understand He IS there….but He wants to show you something in that silence. Whether it be your growth or backsliding…..He will show you, and then correct you or advance you in your walk. In suffering, or in sadness, or just in questioning…KNOW He will never leave you nor forsake you. Trust that His silence is just as golden as when we feel His presence and be encouraged to know that our faith is a journey of never ending growth in our relationship with Him, and our advancements towards a place He wants us to be for His purpose. He loves you, KNOW that, and don’t ever let the times of silence make you walk away, or discourage you.

Psalm 46:10
Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!

Peace to you all – today and every day! And to all – have a VERY blessed and Merry Christmas!

One thought on “GOD’S SILENCE

  1. Yes Brandy we all go through the dry times BUT I always remember the Joy Of Our Saviour Is our strength . Trusting in Him to see me through ! Joy Always comes in the morning !!!!! Mostly I get into the bible for those nuggets of gold I haven’t seen or heard before! Then I know He is always there~ Merry Christmas and a Happy New year ~Praise God for your teachings ~

What are your thoughts?

