Christian Responsibilities · The Great Apostasy

THE PROBLEM WITH JOEL OLSTEEN

I’m watching a recorded Dr. Phil show from last week.  He, on one program, during the last few minutes of the show, had Joel Olsteen on, promoting Olsteen’s newest book titled “The Power of I AM.”
Now there’s one thing that screams out at me about Joel….plain and simply.  You see I was in my 20’s back in the 1990’s, and back in the 90’s – self help guru’s were abundant.  They were making money, they were working on trying to heal America and our pains, our sufferings, our ailments from childhood and more.  I remember I was really into the book “Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus” (if y’all can remember that one) by an author named John Gray.  I was desperate to learn about relationships – before I found the Lord – to find help for myself and my troubled childhood of growing up without a father and an emotionally abusive mother.  I then bought his book “What You Feel, You Can Heal.”  I found these books somewhat helpful in answering a few questions about how to undo what life had done to me.  Although these books helped answer SOME questions, they never ultimately gave me what I needed which was redemption….forgiveness….full and utter healing.  This was clear when I tried to end my life in 1999, about 2 years before I gave my life to the Lord.

These men, these philosophers, these speakers may have good intentions, but they cannot replace the comfort and peace that the Lord gives us.  And lets face it – their ultimate intention is not necessarily to help you, as much as to take your money and help themselves.

Joel Olsteen is only slightly different from say John Gray, or Tony Robbins – and that difference is he rides the back of Christianity.  John Gray focused on worldly relationships, Tony Robbins on positive self talk to help with business, and then there’s Joel, claiming to be a “pastor”.

This is very disturbing to me.   People see the word Pastor and they think “this is a Godly man”.  Joel is not a Godly man.  He is a VERY wealthy man with a fat bank account who preys on those who have little self esteem – which lets face it – is most of us to some degree or another.

Here’s an example of how Joel is not a Godly man:
On the Dr. Phil show, some positive self talk statements were demonstrated that are within Joel’s new book:

  • I am blessed
  • I am prosperous
  • I am successful
  • I am victorious
  • I am talented
  • I am creation
  • I am wise
  • I am healthy
  • I am in shape
  • I am energetic

The list went on and on and on…..and the first question I asked was “where is ‘I am a sinner’?”  Or how about “I am nothing without Christ.” or “I am too worldly” or “I am in need of redemption”????  There’s no humility here whatsoever – only puffing up of one’s self through positive self lies.  We are not called, AS CHRISTIANS, to be the way that Joel suggests.  The Lord calls us to be humble servants, to serve one another, to serve HIM, not self.   Joel is calling for people to puff themselves up, to have a false sense of security in self that certainly will not save their souls.

Matthew 24: And Jesus answered and said unto them, Take heed that no man deceive you. For many shall come in my name, saying, I am Christ; and shall deceive many. 

11 And many false prophets shall rise, and shall deceive many. 12 And because iniquity shall abound, the love of many shall wax cold.

23 Then if any man shall say unto you, Lo, here is Christ, or there; believe it not.

24 For there shall arise false Christs, and false prophets, and shall shew great signs and wonders; insomuch that, if it were possible, they shall deceive the very elect.

Let’s face it, Joel is nothing more than a self glorified self-help guru making scads of money off of others’ insecurities – all the while calling himself “pastor”.  He’s not teaching the gospel to the flock, he’s leading the flock right off a cliff.  This man is not a good shepherd to the flock – he is nothing more than man of charisma, a self-help guru riding the back of Christ, creating a false church full of fans of Joel, not followers of Christ.

The same could be said about Joyce Meyer and others.  The whole lot of those teaching the same self-misleading garbage are extremely wealthy because of the lost and sadly the lost aren’t buying their ticket to heaven through these guru’s, although many believe they are.

As one who’s “been there, done that.”, I can tell you, the only way to find real peace and comfort is through Christ Jesus and His teachings.  And He is CERTAINLY the only way to salvation and an eternity in Heaven.  Do you KNOW Him?

If you’re the kind of person seeking wealth and prosperity, go ahead and listen to Joel and Joyce and others…..but God tells us to not love the things of this world, to be separate from it, to be salt and light.  He never once tells us “try to be like Me, the most High and use Me for worldly gain.”  He never once says – obtain fortune, but instead says it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle, than a rich man to get to heaven.  Jesus never once said, lead my flock by teaching them to love self first.  The first commandment under the New Covenant is to love GOD first, with everything you have, then to love your neighbor as you yourself would like to be loved.  I don’t see Joel’s teachings in that at all.

There is only ONE great I AM, and it’s none of us, trust me.

Peace to you all, today and every day.

One thought on “THE PROBLEM WITH JOEL OLSTEEN

What are your thoughts?

