Apologetics · Christian Responsibilities

BODY OF CHRIST: GRACE AND GIFTS

Hi guys – been awhile since I’ve written.  I’ve been busy working a couple of MLM businesses and just every day life stuff.  Jesus is still with me!  No worries there

There have been numerous topics I’ve wanted to write about recently, but since this one came up today, I’m going to share with all of you because I think it’s important.

A friend said to me today: “I know of a pastor that mocks people who teach prophecy.  He doesn’t feel it should be done and I just don’t get that”. 

This  is nothing new.  I’ve known and met MANY that mock other followers’ “callings”.  They don’t understand how this whole “church” thing works with gifts and callings, according to God’s Holy Word.

Ephesians 3  The Mystery Revealed

For this reason I, Paul, the prisoner of Christ Jesus for you Gentiles— if indeed you have heard of the dispensation of the grace of God which was given to me for you, how that by revelation He made known to me the mystery (as I have briefly written already, by which, when you read, you may understand my knowledge in the mystery of Christ), which in other ages was not made known to the sons of men, as it has now been revealed by the Spirit to His holy apostles and prophets: 6 that the Gentiles should be fellow heirs, of the same body, and partakers of His promise in Christ through the gospel, of which I became a minister according to the gift of the grace of God given to me by the effective working of His power.

Romans 12:  Serve God with Spiritual Gifts

For I say, through the grace given to me, to everyone who is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think soberly, as God has dealt to each one a measure of faith. For as we have many members in one body, but all the members do not have the same function, so we, being many, are one body in Christ, and individually members of one another. Having then gifts differing according to the grace that is given to us, let us use them: if prophecy, let us prophesy in proportion to our faith; or ministry, let us use it in our ministering; he who teaches, in teaching; he who exhorts, in exhortation; he who gives, with liberality; he who leads, with diligence; he who shows mercy, with cheerfulness.

Luke 10:2
Then He said to them, “The harvest truly is great, but the laborers are few; therefore pray the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into His harvest.

I have talked about this same subject numerous times with friends and family at different times – regarding gifts and criticizing of fellow followers for doing something different than we ourselves would in the Name of Jesus.

Basically – what the above verses are saying is this:  God graces us with different spiritual gifts.  The “laborers” use those gifts to promote the gospel.  But we are not all gifted in the same areas, nor are we all called to the same areas of teaching.  I’ll give you some examples:

Let’s start with me:  the Lord called me a long time ago to teach about end times prophecy.  He called me when I was a child when I was always so intrigued by it, and had started my “training” in it as a child as I watched programs about it, heard preachers talk about it, etc.  Whenever ANY “end times” stuff was about, my ears would perk up in high alert, and I HAD to soak it all in.  That then evolved, after giving my life to Christ, to some extremely intense study and knowledge given me by the Holy Spirit and just “watching” what was happening in the world – constantly.  Little did I know when I was a child or even a young adult, that the Lord would use me to teach about it in my later years, let alone that I would be a partaker of living in the tail end of the “last generation” where what I’ve learned over decades would be more important than any other time in history.

The funny thing is – the Lord didn’t call me to teach ALL of end times prophecy; only parts of it – while He also has called others to teach other parts of it.  For example, my gravitation has always been towards the book of Revelation mostly, while others may feel a pull from the book of Daniel and teach more about “Daniel’s timeline”.   I’m not saying that’s ALL I study, but it’s definitely a centerpiece that, amazingly, ties in with so many other parts of scripture; from Jesus’ words about the last days, to the old testament and more.  (Did you know that scripture is approximately 30% prophecy, in which there’s only about 250 left to fulfill????  And all of those prophecies that are left to be fulfilled are regarding the last days and Jesus’ 1000 year reign on earth.   Isn’t that crazy?)

Another example is Bill Salus – this man knows SO MUCH about the last days wars – where as I can only learn from his teachings on that because that’s not my calling area, but it sure is his!  Because that is not my calling – at all – I have to rely on the “experts” of that area; those who’ve actually been called by God Himself to teach that area of scripture and last days prophecy.

You see, parts of God’s Word are SO COMPLEX that it requires sometimes months or even years to gain all the information on that ONE AREA we’ve been called to.  Sometimes just one or 2 verses in scripture can be SO complex that one could write an entire book on those 1 or 2 verses alone.

I cannot disrespect Bill on his teachings about the last days prophecies because I understand that is his special and BLESSED calling from the Lord.  He is part of the body of Christ – just as I am, but he may be a “finger”, and I may be a “toe”…..nevertheless, we are all part of the same body and serve the same purpose:  to teach the gospel in ways others can understand, and in full, according to God’s will.

One of my friends teaches children in her church about the love of Christ by being actively involved in their lives and the children’s teachings in the church.  The kids love her and she has been given the gift of patience to fulfill His desires in that.  I couldn’t do it, but she can, and loves it!

Brannon Howse was called to teach about the last days “false church”.  That is his main focus, and he does it well.  But that doesn’t mean he can teach prophecy 100% effectively…just like I can’t do what he does effectively.

John McArthur was called to teach the bible “generally” through deep and intense study to reach more mature Christians,  while Charles Stanley was called to teach scripture more based on an “emotional level” – to reach the broken hearted, to help them heal through God’s word, and to help them reach out to Christ initially.

I had yet another friend (she passed recently, God rest her soul) who was called to be a prayer warrior and she displayed faithfulness in Christ and His miraculous answer to her prayers, that would further witness to those around her who had seen for themselves how her faithful prayers changed lives and circumstances.   I’m talking cancer patients on their deathbeds healed through her continual and faithful prayers.  She taught me through all this to trust Him more, to be patient, and to just in general have more faith in Him than myself.

So you see?  There are MANY gifts that the Lord extends to us through the Holy Spirit.  No Holy Spirit; no gifts or callings. 

 

IN A NUTSHELL: He gives us the desire in a certain area, then graces us with the tools necessary to share that area of Him/His Word, then draws others to us that He wants that message given to, in the way that they can understand and grow from.  It’s truly an amazing and miraculous process.

Our callings are NOT self desires; they are God-desires.  For example – my calling?  Some days I struggle with it because it’s hard, it’s ugly news, it can be rather scary for me and others to acknowledge and hear about and understand.  And I often get criticized for it because people today just want to hear the “good news”.  Well, all I can say is this:  if it is good enough to be in God’s Holy Word, it’s good enough for us to talk about, and to hear about, and to share.

I have faith that whoever needs to hear what I have to say – He will bring them to me.

Listen guys; WE….as individual parts of the WHOLE body of Christ… should NEVER criticize another follower’s calling – lest we judge UN-righteously the will of God.  We often do that when we ourselves don’t understand this entire blog’s concept and the Lord’s greater plans.  We should be RESPECTING each others calling, knowing how we are ALL blessed with these gifts and callings; hearing with both ears (and not just our individual pride), verifying with scripture the validity of that message, and working as ONE. We, as TRUE FOLLOWERS of Christ, are ALL blessed and need to recognize that and not criticize one another.

One church – one body – one Purpose.  Amen?

Peace to you all, today and everyday.  ❤

What are your thoughts?

